top of page


Cycling UK Lincolnshire AGM 2016 

Sunday 6th November 2016

Gainsborough Aegir Cycling Club were hosts of a prestigious event, The Cycling UK Lincolnshire Annual General Meeting which was held at The Hill top Social Club in Gainsborough.

Cycling UK Lincolnshire is the new name for CTC Lincolnshire which promotes touring cycling in the county, organising cycle rides into the countryside using quiet roads and Sustrans cycle routes. The rides are always at a steady speed to suit all the riders taking part and no one is left behind, beginners and new riders are welcome to take part they don’t have to be members. The club fights for cyclists rights looking after their welfare as road users.

Trevor Halstead President for Cycling UK Lincolnshire said "Cycle touring is exciting, interesting and sociable". Riders don’t have to be super fit, all they require is a safe road worthy cycle, all the rides are free the only cost is for refreshments at chosen cafes on route.

After all the usual AGM business trophies were presented.

The West Lincolnshire Trophy was awarded to Cycling UK Gainsborough area member Daniel Nicholson (31). Cycling is a big part of Daniel’s life, he enjoys club riding on Sundays. As an accredited cycle training instructor he encourages and helps new riders into the recreation of riding a cycle and assisted in running Gainsborough’s National bike week events. Also attending meetings co-ordinated by Dave Carter Sports officer for Gainsborough town Council.

BSA Merit Cup was awarded to Melanie Carroll, she has set up a ladies cycling group in Lincoln and also worked hard attending County Council meetings encouraging local authorities to produce safe cycling routes in the area.

Melanie also won the Cycling UK Lincolnshire Photography Trophy for a picture taken of riders taking part in their cycle rides.

The Paul Enderby Memorial Trophy was awarded to Cycling UK Louth for promoting cycling activities in their area, as well as promoting cycle rides through out the year.

The group would like to thank The Hill Top Club for their hospitality.








Photo by Trevor Halstead

Trophy winners: Daniel Nicholson, Cycling UK Louth (Tim Newbery accepting) and Melanie Carroll.

bottom of page